Winchester Backs White Ribbon Campaign - The Directory Group

Winchester backs White Ribbon campaign

Winchester is showing its support for an international effort to tackle domestic abuse.

The ‘White Ribbon Campaign’ aims to highlight the impact domestic abuse has on individuals and families mentally and physically, educating the public and raising awareness of the issue.

At an event in the city centre this Wednesday (25th November), from 10am-3pm, members of Winchester Community Safety Partnership, Domestic Abuse and Violence Forum and the Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner will invite people to support the campaign by wearing a white ribbon.

They will also use sunflowers to highlight the local theme of remembrance for those women who have lost their lives to domestic abuse. Nationally, two women a week lose their lives to domestic abuse.

A second display will be based at Worthy Down with support from the Army Welfare team, also raising awareness of the campaign and signposting to support services.

Cllr Frank Pearson, portfolio holder for environment, health and wellbeing at Winchester City Council, said: “This event is of great importance, not only highlighting the national campaign and all the great work it does, but also raising awareness at a local level. This event provides local organisations with an opportunity to promote their services and also highlights to the public that there are services available to those who are affected by domestic abuse.”

Mayor of Winchester Angela Clear commented: “I am very pleased to be supporting the White Ribbon Day campaign in Winchester. Domestic abuse affects 45% of women in the UK. Holding this event locally will also help raise the profile of the local services in place and also shows the commitment that partner agencies have made to reduce the incidence of domestic abuse.”

Find out more about the White Ribbon campaign at:

The Directory Group covers the following areas within Hampshire and West Sussex: Petersfield, Clanfield, Hayling Island, Cowplain, Waterlooville, Denmead, Purbrook, Widley, Farlington, Cosham, Drayton, Havant, Rowlands Castle, Emsworth, Southbourne, Westbourne, Bosham, and Meon Valley