Stay Safe Shop Local With Free After Three In Petersfield - The Directory Group

Stay safe, shop local with Free After Three in Petersfield

East Hampshire District Council (EHDC) has teamed up with Petersfield Town Council to make Swan Street car park ‘Free After Three’ this December.

From 3 to 24 December inclusive, Swan Street pay and display car park in Petersfield will be free to park in from Monday to Saturday after 3pm to help encourage residents to shop locally over the festive season.

Councillor Ingrid Thomas, EHDC portfolio holder for Neighbourhood Quality, said:

“As part of our commitment to support local businesses during the coronavirus pandemic, we are proud to support this initiative in Petersfield.

"With the lifting of national restrictions from 2 December, residents will be able to return to their high street and show their support for local businesses that have been hit hard by the coronavirus crisis.

"If you do head to the shops, it will still be important to plan ahead, maintain social distance from people outside your bubble, wear a face mask in shops and wash your hands regularly to minimise the chance of catching or spreading coronavirus.”

Councillor Lesley Farrow, Petersfield Town Mayor, said:

“Petersfield Town Council is delighted to be able to demonstrate support and this opportunity for shoppers, be they residents or visitors to Petersfield. Additionally, and importantly, we hope that businesses will find this to their advantage. We trust that maximum benefit can be forthcoming for all.”

To find out more about the stay safe, shop local campaign, go to the EHDC website -

Please note

Free After Three may be withdrawn with immediate effect if local tiered restrictions mean that it cannot go ahead.

The relaxation of parking charges is subject to the issue of a Decision Notice from EHDC and a five-day consultation period.

The Directory Group covers the following areas within Hampshire and West Sussex: Petersfield, Clanfield, Hornden, Cowplain, Waterlooville, Denmead, Purbrook, Widley, Farlington, Cosham, Drayton, Havant, Rowlands Castle, Hayling Island, Emsworth, Southbourne, Westbourne and Bosham.