Celebrating The Jubilee Around The Havant Borough - The Directory Group

Celebrating the Jubilee around the Havant borough

Residents living in the borough are preparing for a right royal knees up to mark the Platinum Jubilee.

A total of 41 streets will be closed to traffic for street parties at some point over the extended Bank Holiday weekend which runs from Thursday 2 June to Sunday 5 June.

Residents had to ask permission from Havant Borough Council to close their road to make sure closures do not have a significant impact on traffic. Party organisers have been asked to make people who live along the street aware of their plans, including the length of time the road will be closed for.

The emergency services have also been made aware, although organisers of events have been asked to make sure roads can be made accessible for all emergency vehicles at all times.

Check out our website to find out what roads will be closed so that there’s no surprises for people going about the borough who may need to find alternative routes.

Wowing residents with larger events community groups have organised get-togethers for everyone to attend.  Taking place in Emsworth, Havant, Hayling Island, Leigh Park and Waterlooville they will include live music, arena displays, fun dog show, face painting, bouncy castle, funfair, storytelling, best crown competition and a donkey derby.

Even creative 'Kings and Queens' fancy dress competitions will take place - so if you are a budding Elvis, wannabe drag queen or just fancy dressing like Her Majesty for the day -  find out what's going on in your local area.

Councillor Gwen Robinson, Havant Borough Council's Cabinet Lead for Affordable Housing, Communities and CIL, said; "This will be a bank holiday to remember.  It's about coming together to celebrate as a community. 

"We have had jubilee events in the past, but this being a Platinum Jubilee will make it a special historic weekend of celebrations."

The Directory Group covers the following areas within Hampshire and West Sussex: Petersfield, Clanfield, Hornden, Cowplain, Waterlooville, Denmead, Purbrook, Widley, Farlington, Cosham, Drayton, Havant, Rowlands Castle, Hayling Island, Emsworth, Southbourne, Westbourne and Bosham.