From Tiny Acorns - The Directory Group

From tiny acorns

Young people involved in a community project recently enjoyed the opportunity to see how their planting is making progress.

Children from Berewood Primary School were delighted to see that 390 acorns they collected and planted last autumn have grown into 273 oak saplings up to half-a-metre tall.

More than 50 children from the school recently re-potted the saplings as part of a public art programme for the Berewood site in the West of Waterlooville Major Development area.

This potting session is one of many events in ‘It takes 700 acorns to grow a boat’, a community growing project that will eventually lead to 700 oak trees being planted by local volunteers in Berewood as the development grows.

Viv Kies, deputy headteacher at Berewood Primary School, said: “The young people involved in the planting will grow up with the trees and with the sculptures that have inspired the planting initiative. Our community-minded school was very keen to be involved in this community project from the outset and are looking forward to helping with other aspects of the programme.”

Funded by contributions from developer Grainger PLC, It takes 700 acorns to grow a boat is the first of a three-strand community engagement project being carried out by the public realm artists, Wayward, developing large-scale pieces made from steel and oak trees to reflect the historical importance of the area in providing wood for ship-building.

The second strand of the community engagement will be a Berewood Nautical Forest School, exploring the ancient woodlands of the Forest of Bere and teaching people about its extraordinary history.

The third strand, Model Boat Building workshops, will be held at the International Boat Training College in Portsmouth, teaching people how to craft boats to use on the model boat pond, an integral part of the structure in Town Park.

The Directory Group covers the following areas within Hampshire and West Sussex: Petersfield, Clanfield, Hayling Island, Cowplain, Waterlooville, Denmead, Purbrook, Widley, Farlington, Cosham, Drayton, Havant, Rowlands Castle, Emsworth, Southbourne, Westbourne, Bosham, and Meon Valley