Staunton Country Park Gets The Go Ahead For Revamp - The Directory Group

Staunton Country Park gets the go ahead for revamp

Staunton Country Park gets the go ahead to fully reveal its historic past and modernise visitor facilities

Planning permission has been granted to Staunton Country Park to create a fantastic new visitor centre and restore its beautiful 200-year-old Regency landscape.

Hampshire County Council has invested £950,000, along with £2.85 million from the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) and Big Lottery Fund, to restore the historic park to its former glory and invest in improved visitor facilities, as the park approaches Staunton's bicentenary in 2019.

Councillor Seán Woodward, Hampshire County Council’s Executive Member for Recreation and Heritage, said: “We are really pleased that work can now get underway to conserve and restore Staunton’s unique historic features, and enhance the visitor facilities. Our vision is to make Staunton a ‘must visit’ destination in Hampshire.” 

Work to be completed by the end of 2019 will include:

- Restoration of the Grade II* listed landscape
- Conservation of the historic follies and Chinese bridge 
- Two activity rooms available to park and community groups 
- Improvements to car parking 
- New catering and toilet facilities 
- New trails and activities

The country park is partly modelled on the former Imperial Park at Jehol in China. The nineteenth century site was formerly the home of Sir George Thomas Staunton - whose father Sir George Leonard Staunton introduced a Chinese tea blend to England, later named Earl Grey Tea.

Councillor Woodward continued: “We know that Staunton has a fascinating history spanning two centuries so far. This project is a once in a lifetime opportunity to sympathetically link its past with an exciting new chapter in its history.” 


Find out more about Staunton Country Park by visiting

The Directory Group covers the following areas within Hampshire and West Sussex: Petersfield, Clanfield, Hayling Island, Cowplain, Waterlooville, Denmead, Purbrook, Widley, Farlington, Cosham, Drayton, Havant, Rowlands Castle, Emsworth, Southbourne, Westbourne, Bosham, and Meon Valley