Dick Whittington Cast Visit Naomi House Jacksplace Hospice - The Directory Group

Dick Whittington cast visit Naomi House & Jacksplace hospice

Dick Whittington cast visit Naomi House & Jacksplace hospice

This week several cast members from Theatre Royal Winchester’s panto, Dick Whittington, made a special festive trip to Naomi House & Jacksplace hospice, near Winchester.

Dick Whittington’s Cat, played by Jessie Angell; Fairy Bow Bells (Libby Gore), and Alderman – Jon Bonner, who also stars as Captain and Sultan in the panto – visited the children and young people staying for respite care at the specialist regional hospice in Sutton Scotney.

During the visit they introduced themselves to the children and young people there, and told them about the story of Dick Whittington – a man who seeks his fame and fortune in a London ravaged by the sinister King Rat.

They entertained the group, including families and staff members, by singing Christmas favourites including Jingle Bells, Frosty the Snowman, Silent Night, We Wish You A Merry Christmas – and more, with Jon on the guitar – one of several instruments he plays during the panto itself. Everyone joined in, with some shaking sleigh bells and tambourines.

After, they had photos with the children and young people, and Jessie, Libby and Jon expressed what an honour it had been to be asked to go and meet everyone at the hospice, and to witness the extraordinary work that the staff team does there. They hope they brought some joy to the hospice.

Naomi House & Jacksplace provide respite, emergency and end of life care to life-limited children and young people across the central south of England.

Dick Whittington continues to run from now until Sunday 5 January, with tickets available online at theatreroyalwinchester.co.uk/whats-on/dick-whittington, by calling 01962 840440 or visiting the Box Office at the venue – Theatre Royal Winchester, Jewry Street, SO23 8SB

The Directory Group covers the following areas within Hampshire and West Sussex: Petersfield, Clanfield, Hayling Island, Cowplain, Waterlooville, Denmead, Purbrook, Widley, Farlington, Cosham, Drayton, Havant, Rowlands Castle, Emsworth, Southbourne, Westbourne, Bosham, and Meon Valley